332

After a 6 month hiatus I started back to watercolour painting  with the little 5×7 tulip painting that I finished earlier this week.  I  just had to see if I actually remembered how to paint!  Thankfully, though I felt a bit rusty, I realized that I didn’t totally forget how and maybe its kind of  like riding a bike. 🙂

So what did I decide to do as soon as I completed the itty bitty 5×7 painting …I decided to leap into a 33x48cm (13x19in) painting of a sunflower.  It is coming along.  I am working to build up my concentration levels again.  What I am noticing after such a long break is that I have to “think” a lot more, which is slowing down my painting.  When I paint every day for hours, I flow better.   I stop having to “think” about how to mix the colours, or how to capture the nuances of the sunlight and shadows on the petals.   Also when I paint a lot I find that I can paint for 4, 5  or 6 hours without much of a break and I am not tired.    I have to say I am really looking forward to getting back to that kind of rhythm again!   Right now I seem to last 2 hours, tonight I did 2.5 hours but I am really tired at the end of the session…slowly it will get better.  So here is where I am with the sunflower.  If you are on Facebook you have been seeing daily updates as I do bit by bit.

06.05.14 Sunflower

Sorry about the quality of the photos. I  was snapping them quickly just to see how things were going.

06.05.14 Sunflower2

Value is the biggest challenge when working with yellow!  See yellow looks like it is a lighter value than other colours but often if you take a photo of the colours side-by-side and grey tone it then you can see that the yellow is close to the same value.  It is an optical illusion that yellow is lighter.  It makes working with yellow completely fun!  This painting is larger which means the centre is large enough to really have fun with.  I can’t wait to get going.  Some day I would love to do a 22×30 inch sunflower…but my patience level isn’t there yet!  😉

The days are getting lighter as we head into the summer solstice…but in true Yellowknife fashion the first week of June has been rather chilly!  The full moon will be here soon and hopefully some warmer weather will follow.  I don’t do grey gloomy weather very well.  I am a sunshine girl.  Thankfully I am painting a flower that represents sunshine…glad I am painting the sunflower!

Have a wonderful weekend.  I can’t wait to show you the final piece on Monday. See you then!