467

Congratulations to Dean Mitchell AWS NSW for receiving the 2016 PleinAir Magazine Life Achievement Award, which he shared with another artist the late Ken Auster.

His story is very interesting and unique.  I thought I would like to share it with you all.  There will be a little effort on your part to get to the podcast since the way the website is set up there was no simple way to isolate the interview with Dean.  So head over to the website and scroll down until you find Episode 11 Dean Mitchell and have a listen.  🙂

Dean Mitchell’s website is filled with amazing watercolour paintings!  So inspirational.   06.09.16 Dean Mitchell hopeincolor

06.09.16 Dean Mitchell southernlight

06.09.16 Dean Mitchell bobragland

Though I don’t work in any way like him I am completely inspired by his understanding of value, of his tonal qualities and how he brings us into his way of seeing the world.   Above are just a few of his amazing watercolours.

Recently I have begun to  think about how I can begin to develop a deeper understanding of value, tones and not use such strong bright colours.  I think working towards other colour options might be quite an interesting challenge.  And as you know…I do love my challenges!

p.s. My flowers will always be lovely and bright and colourful.  Flowers can’t be any other way.  They make my heart sing and the flowers have begun to bloom here!  I love this time of the year.

06.09.16 First Wild Roses

Thanks for dropping by!  See you again soon.

 

