459

I have some very exciting news at the bottom of this post!  🙂 But I will come to that in a minute

There a range of great sport competitions at the Arctic Winter Games.  I usually check out a few but I generally spend most of my time at Arctic Sports or Dene hand games.  This year with having our nephews in futsal meant that I spent sometime at Arctic Sports.  I love the atmosphere, the camaraderie among the competitors and the slow pace that leads to amazing athletic performances.

03.30.16 Sledge jumping Arctic Winter Games Nuuk

This one is a Russian introduction to the Arctic Sports.  It is called Sledge Jumping. It is amazing to watch the athletes bounce over these sledges, landing gently both feet at the same time and bouncing over then next one…10 in a row then land turn and go again! 03.30.16 One foot High Kick Arctic Winter Games Nuuk Greenland. jpg

One foot High Kick is amazing.  In the 1990’s I remember going and watching a fellow from Alaska called Brian Randazzo who holds the record in One foot High Kick since 1988 (before my time going to the games).  His record is 2.90 metres (9ft6in).  To successfully  complete the kick the athlete has to  take off on one foot, kick the seal ball, and land on the same foot!  Getting photos of this is very hard.  This is a close as I got.  It always amazes me how high they can kick.

03.30.16 Knuckle hop agony Arctic Winter Games

This Inuit sport is called Knuckle Hop.  It was and is about building pain endurance.  Head over to CBC to watch a video of Chris Stipdonk who won gold for NWT!  I can’t imagine doing this over the tundra like in the days of the nomadic inuit.  It is pretty tough on the hands and knuckles inside of a gymnasium it must be insane over the tundra.  03.30.16 Chris Gold medal knuckle hop Arctic Winter GamesHere is Chris as the start of what would turn out to be an amazing 54.8 metre run before he just ran out of steam.  Amazing.

So here is my big announcement!  Drum Roll please……

I have started to do YouTube videos.  The first one is of this painting.  Just click on the painting and off you will go to see the video.  🙂

04.07.16 Bonaparte Seagull Shawna Lampi-Legaree

 

Well I am off.  Thanks for dropping by. Have a great weekend. See you on Monday.

 

