456

Last week I shared a painting by Sir John Everett Millais called “Afternoon Tea”.  I have heard the term “Pre-Raphaelite” before but didn’t really understand what that meant.  But last week I read about the Pre-Raphaelite brotherhood and the movement.  Turns out I have been attracted to this style of painting before!  I love the detail, the narrative style.  I adore the glorious fabrics.

07.09.15 JW Waterhousesm

“I am half-sick of shadows, said the Lady of Shalott” by JW Waterhouse 1916

…There she weaves by night and day / A magic web with colours gay. / She has heard a whisper say, / A curse is on her if she stay / To look down to Camelot. 
She knows not what the curse may be, / And so she weaveth steadily, / And little other care hath she, / The Lady of Shalott…

I saw this painting  in Toronto this summer at the Art Gallery of Ontario.  I loved the detail and the narrative within the painting.  But only as I start to do research to I discover that Lady of Shalott is actually from a poem called “The Lady of Shalott” by Lord Alfred Tennyson.  This poem inspired a number of the Pre-Raphaelites, including JW Waterhouse.   You can see from the dates that Waterhouse came back to this poem to explore the different stages of her curse.


7 800px-The_Lady_of_Shallot_Looking_at_Lancelot

The Lady of Shalott looking at Lancelot, 1894

… She look’d down to Camelot. / Out flew the web and floated wide; / The mirror crack’d from side to side; / “The curse is come upon me,” cried /  The Lady of Shalott…

7 John_William_Waterhouse_-_The_Lady_of_Shalott_-_Google_Art_Project

 The Lady of Shalott, 1888

…Down she came and found a boat / Beneath a willow left afloat,  / And round about the prow she wrote / The Lady of Shalott…
7 Lady_of_Shalott_edmo
Unknown Artist and date
…But Lancelot mused a little space; / He said, “She has a lovely face;  / God in his mercy lend her grace, / The Lady of Shalott.”
The last three images were from Wikipedia.
One never knows when they follow a string where it will take them.  I am enjoying looking into paintings and doing a bit of research on them.  I know that there is much that could be said but I think for today that I will stop here!
See you on Monday!  Have a great weekend.
