424

I spend three full and very long days sewing new covers for my display walls. I thought I would do ivory coloured covers. Then I can compare it to the black fabric covers that I have used before. 🙂  I thought I would do that now before I am in lock down mode where I am painting, painting and painting more for my “Moments of Beauty” Show in November.

The sun has been shining and so I have been taking photos of flowers around Yellowknife.  I think I have some fun ones to work from.  Today I took a single photo of a white dahlia downtown at the dental clinic and when I downloaded it to my computer it turned out fabulous.  🙂  Can’t wait to paint it.

So lets get on to week 2 of the painting class that I took.

Monday I returned after a fun weekend to a dry painting!   Time to be brave and work on the white fabric.  I have spent a lot of time with fabric over the years but it turns out painting it is not as easy as Christina makes it look!   😉  I only got the right hand side of the cloth first painting completed on day 6.  I actually took a piece of the same kind of fabric and did a couple of drawings of it on Monday night as homework.  09.03.15 Day 6 ARA Boston

Day 6 done!

So after doing the drawings the night before I had a better sense of where to go with the fabric on Day 7!    There is so much detail and subtly in cloth.  Each fold, some sharp and some gentle needed my full attention.  I was really learning how to see the subtle shifts of value.  A new level of artist seeing. I got the left hand side of the fabric completed (at least for the first painting) and started a bit on the silver teapot.

09.03.15 Day 7 ARA Boston

Day 7 in the bag.

Now on to Day 8.  You can see that the first painting of the pot body has come along quite well.  I am challenged to “see” the various reflections.  Part of the challenge is that it is hard to see the little details from back where I was standing.  I would move forward and the details of course would be different.  Then Christina came up with a brilliant idea…she found me opera glasses.  I have to get myself a pair of those darling binoculars!  🙂  They really helped me to study what was in front of me and when I looked without them I still could see where the details were. Very cool.

09.03.15 Day 9 ARA Boston Shawna Lampi-Legaree

Day 8 is complete.

I realized at the end of Wednesday (Day 8) that I wasn’t going to get this painting finished.  Others in the class stayed late to paint but I was in Boston and I just needed to go back to the Boston Museum of Fine Art!  So I did that instead of staying and painting.  When I arrived on Thursday morning I decided to slow down,  be particular and focus on a particularly difficult part of the spout.  So I “drew” it with my paint brush.  Back and forth I walked putting a stroke of paint down, backing up to see if it was in the right place, looking through the opera glasses to check the details, and forward to put another stroke of paint down.  This was what I did all day long.  I am super pleased with how the bottom of the spout turned out!  It is very accurate.

09.03.15 Day 9 ARA Boston Shawna Lampi-LegareeDay 9 finished.08.27.15 ARA Boston Shawna LampiLegaree8The spout detail.

Friday morning arrived and here we are on the very last day of the course.  It was such a great course but I was rather tired and very excited about heading home the next morning so I understood that my focus wasn’t going to be the best.  I had already decided that I wasn’t finishing the painting, so I just took it easy.  I worked on the pears.  Step by step I worked, Christina coming by to confirm I was on the right direction or to help me see where I needed to focus.  Thank you so much Christina for all your gentle guidance and help over the 10 days. I hope someday to be able to take another course with you. 09.03.15 Last Day ARA Boston Shawna Lampi-Legaree

Here we are at Day 10!

08.27.15 ARA Boston Shawna LampiLegaree9

Thank  you to the rest of the class.  I enjoyed meeting you.  I wish you all the very best in your future endeavours at the Academy of Realist Art!

See you soon!

