417

06.08.15 Robertson Davies' Whore Commission Shawna Lampi-Legaree

“Robertson Davies’ Whore”, 14×14 inches, Watercolour, Commission

On Sunday I brought over this painting to the person who commissioned me.  She is one of my biggest supporters and cheerleaders!  I am very pleased to say that the peony painting was very well received.  Nothing better than a very happy client/collector!  That made me smile for a long time afterwards.

Here is a little bit I know about why she named the painting “Robertson Davies’ Whore”.  William Robertson Davies  (August 28, 1913 – December 2, 1995) was a Canadian novelist, playwright, critic, journalist, and professor. He was one of Canada’s best known and most popular authors, and one of its most distinguished “men of letters”, a term Davies is variously said to have gladly accepted for himself and to have detested.

In  his novel “What’s Bred in the Bone” he had a young character become aware of the world

“The little boy nodded at the peony and the peony seemed to nod back. The little boy was neat, clean and pretty. The peony was unchaste, dishevelled as peonies must be, and at the height of its beauty.(…At this point in the text there is something about the flower being a whore) Every hour is filled with such moments, big with significance for someone.”

I hope to have it available at my Show in November so those who are close by can see it in person.

So how do you commission me to do a painting?  You can check out my website under the title of COMMISSIONS.

