400

It seemed the perfect thing to post for my 400th blog entry.

01.30.15 Designing Still life

I spent 5 1/2 hours on Friday setting up a range of still life vignettes around the whole table so folks would have many options!
01.30.15 Final Still life vinettesHere is the one side.  I didn’t get a proper photo of the other side.  Sad, because Pepe le Pew was on the other side on the backside of the tulips.   🙂

01.31.15 Warming up our minds2

I have structured the class so that there are 3 – 2 hour sessions of skill building, then the last class is 6 hours long.  I am sure folks were worried about how they would manage that much time but wow it was a great session.  The morning we started with a “warming up your brain” exercise.  There were two more skill building exercises before lunch.

As part of the course I make homemade soup and sandwiches and while the students were eating I transformed the table for our afternoon session.  It took about 1/2 hour to get all the still life vignettes set back up.

We spent the rest of the afternoon drawing.  First we did a musical drawing…which means you start your drawing, leave on the chair while you move to the next seat and work on someone else’s drawing.  🙂 01.31.15 Musical Drawing results1They all signed each one.  That is when folks realized that they knew each others adult children!  I thought the results were great given the challenge of it.

01.31.15 Drawing the still life1At this time of the year we are all so glad to see the sun coming back!  It lit up the table and it was interesting to try to keep up with the changing light.

01.31.15 Teacher gets to drawEven the teacher got to spend sometime drawing.

01.31.15 Lesley Caroline Pat Laurie Shawna small

It was a great day and we missed the other two participants who had life that got in the way.  I feel that I was able to convey the basics of learning to draw in a clear and not overwhelming way.  🙂 Step by step we moved along and there was a real sense of confidence when we tackled the afternoon session.

Through out this class I have never asked the students to share their work.  When a person is beginning to learn how to draw it is really important to give them the space to learn without the worry of others seeing the early works.  But I did ask at the end of the class if they would be willing to share one image of what drawing they were the most pleased with how it turned out.

So here are the drawings that they were most pleased with.

01.31.15 Drawing 1 favourite drawings

Thank you for dropping by.  I hope you have a great day!  I am off to get ready for the second session of the Acrylic 1 class. Maybe tonight I will remember to take some photos.

