339

30 in 30 collage

As you might remember that couple of years ago I signed up for a Painting a Day Challenge for the month of September – 30 paintings in 30 days. I didn’t have a theme but I did create some guidelines I wanted to paint by.

This is what I wrote on September 1,2013 as I launched into this challenge:

“My perimeters for this 30 paintings in 30 days challenge is to paint from life in about 2 to 2.5 hours of time (cause I have a bunch of other important deadlines this month too) and K.I.S.S. (keep it simple stupid). Also you will notice that there is no price on these paintings. Mostly because the thought of putting a price on them created stress that wasn’t going to be ultimately helpful. At this point as I start to work on gaining confidence with working this way it is better if I do studies.”

Three of the four went out the window…I couldn’t do these paintings in 2 or 2.5 hours! It often took me 6 or more hours. And the K.I.S.S. didn’t work because that created boring still life setups to paint and I don’t do boring well. And not putting a price on them lasted only 4 days and then I had my first enquiry and I priced them all and I sold a third of the paintings I did.

So here we are two years later and I signed up again. But this time I will be painting daily and posting the little section of the watercolour painting that I completed on that day as I prepare for Dreaming of Colour Show and Sale.

Go and check out: http://30paintingsin30days.weebly.com

It is a fabulous experience and I can’t wait to do it again.

 

