303

As the year comes to a close I thought I would look back at some of my favourite pieces of art of 2013.

02.26.13 Greeting a New Day

Working with yellow was an interesting challenge…the shadows are a bit tricky.  I loved that I was able to get the shadows looking right.  I think that there will be more sunflowers in my future! 😉

1057 Monet Monet SOLDIn the spring I painted furiously to prepare for my first show and sale with my watercolour paintings.  I loved the lily pads.  It reminded me of driving out the Ingram Trail on a glorious hot summer day.

09.08.13 disgruntaled labourers 08 of 30 copySeptember found me participating in a daily painting challenge.  I loved the playfulness of this painting.  It is one of my favourites.  The painting resides in Hay River!

09.20.13 Treasured 20 of 30

I like whimsy.  It makes my heart sing.  I especially loved how this painting turned out.  🙂

10.11.13 Shawnas Secret Recipe Art of GivingIn October the challenge was to complete this quilt. I LOVE how it turned out.  This week I bought a year at a glance calendar that I wrote deadline dates fora number of juried quilt shows.  I hope that this baby gets to travel!

1106 Morning Delight SOLD

I enjoyed figuring out how to capture the depth of shadow leaves in the background of “Morning Delight”.  This piece was ready for my very first Open House in November.  We transformed our home into an art gallery and hosted a fabulous party.

Now this is the time of year that most people begin to think of the new year and what they want to accomplish in 2014. I seem to be a bit off this schedule… as I  do my planning for the year in July when I can sit outside in the sunshine and dream.  I feel like September is the beginning of my year (must be something to do with when the kids school year began and the weather is cooling down so it is time to be in my studio more)

But at this time of the year on the QuiltArt online group there is a thread on choosing a word that will reflect the year to come.  I have been participating for the past 4 years with 2014 being year 5.

2010 – Habit…I needed to work on the habit of working in my studio.

2011 – Focus…I had my first major solo show and I certainly didn’t want to embarrass myself by not meeting my commitment. Boy did I have to be focused!

2012 – Patience…I was working full-time and hardly had time to be in my studio (like what I am going through now)

2013 – Steadfastness…I worked to learn my new mediums – watercolour and acrylic.

My word for 2014 is “Preparation”!  As I build my business I have been taking on a little bit at a time so that I don’t get overwhelmed with all I have to do.  The next bit I want to take on is  teaching.  So this year, with all the commitments I already have, I will begin to develop a range of workshops (drawing and painting) for the beginning of 2015.  I am really excited about this idea.     Watch for the course dates to be posted in September.  🙂

So what would word would reflect your life for 2014?

