283

09.30.13 How Many? 30 of 30“How Many?”, 20x20cm (8x8in), Acrylic on Canvas, SOLD

So here we are…at the end.  I have done 30 paintings in 30 days.  This month has been interesting, challenging, exhausting and all consuming in many ways.  My husband  even had to take over doing laundry on the weekends because I was working long, long hours.  Thank you Ian!

What have I learned?  I have learned that I don’t do K.I.S.S. at all. 🙂  I learned that it was ludicrous to think that I could do a painting in just 3 hours in a day (mostly because I can’t “keep it simple stupid” at all).  😉  I learned how to draw and paint from life and I am thrilled with the results.  I learned that a “wiper” may be a challenge after spending so many hours on the painting but I survived it.  I was thankful only to have only one  painting that was at that level of failure.  I learned that coming up with ideas really starts to generate even more ideas and I now have a long list for future paintings.  I learned that I can work 21 days straight with one day being a 20 hour work day meeting a quilting deadline in the middle of all this madness and on day 22 I will need a day off!  And I also learned that I like painting on boards, todays painting is on stretched canvas…I like boards better.

I have to say that my admiration for people who do daily painting and have done it for a long, long time has increased with each passing day this month…these are amazing people.  So to all the painters (and there are a ton that I check out regularly) who I have watched for many years including  Duane Keiser, Edward B Gordon, Carol Marine, Karin Jurick, Karen Werner and Andy Smith, you have my immense admiration of your dedication and continued (mostly) daily painting !  Wow!!!!    To be truthful I never thought I would actually take up painting even though I have been following Duane since 2005…

I want to thank Leslie Saeta for hosting this 30 Paintings in 30 Day Challenge.  You inspire so many artists to continue to challenge themselves and to grow as artists.  Leslie, your generous giving of marketing information has transformed many artist’s lives, including mine.  I am pleased to say I sold nearly 1/3 of the paintings I created this month and I had my first commission too!  🙂

I would like to thank all those people who loved my art and purchased it.  I will be contacting you tomorrow to find out when I can drop off your painting.   Thank you so much for adding my art work to your collection!

My last thank you goes to my husband…who as I mentioned earlier even took over doing the laundry this month.   I appreciate your ongoing support and encouragement!  And I loved that you would come out to check the finished painting each night!   Love you lots!!!! I am one lucky woman!  ❤

See you tomorrow with one more post with regards to 30 in 30  and then I will be back to Monday and Thursday postings.  I hope you don’t mind going to twice a week after hearing from me every day.    Thanks for coming along for the ride this month.  Thanks for all those who commented!  I always look forward to hearing what you have to say.

With that I can say….there are 0 paintings left to do.

