186

So I have decided to call my paintings numbers with the goal to get to 120 small paintings.  Here is #2.

02 02.16.13

#2, 8×8, acrylic

What did I learn?  Well first of all some of you are aware that I am a quilter turned painter.  I have learned that my fabulous fabric stash does not have the kinds of fabrics I want to use in my still life set ups.  I want fabric with simple patterns like the dots on this fabric.  Then I learned that white on white is not such a good idea.  Painting teeny tiny things like a kiss…I may need to invest in a large magnify glass so I can actually see the details!   And lastly I really need to focus on value and on painting the items.  So to that end for the next while I will be working in grey scale and focusing in on what I am seeing for value.

We are 12 days away from the end of the month!  I can’t believe the difference in the how long the sun stays up!  I will be giving away an original 5×7 watercolour painting and two sets of cards on March 1st!   Do you have your name in yet?  To get your name in for the draw, leave a comment, sign up to follow my blog or sign up for my bi-monthly newsletter.  The more comments you make the more your name is entered!

See you on Monday!

