179

02.07.13 Sunflower

11″x14″, Watercolour

So here is where I am at with the sunflower.  I am finding when I work on a painting that I am actually physically too close to it to see how the painting is coming along.  So as I work I have to stop and take photos with my camera a fair amount to see the painting in a smaller format (farther away).  Now I have a new app that allows me to work not only with the full colour image but with black and white so I can focus on the actual values.  This painting has a lot of yellow and I was finding it rather challenging to figure out what the value that I was seeing.  Yellow is so light and yet you see that there is red, burnt sienna, burnt umber as well as several different yellows in each petal.   I am learning to see what colours are really there not what I think is there.

 

02.07.13 The girlsTwo more sleeps until my little roommates get to see their parents!  They are excited.  But we have a lot of playing to do before that happens!   They are so darn cute!

We are 7 days into February, which means that there are only 21 days left to get your name into the February Draw for an Original 5×7 watercolour painting.  Each time you comment your name gets put in…the more you comment the more chances you have to win!  Following my blog, or signing up for my Art newsletter puts your name in each and every month.

Have a brilliant day! Thanks for dropping by.  See you on Monday!

