172

A couple of winters ago I was working like a crazy woman getting prepared for my first major solo show.  I was working from morning to very late at night 7 days a week.  I stumbled upon a quote that I printed and put on the door of my studio.  It was one of my motivations that kept me chugging when I wasn’t so sure I could pull off all the work I said I would do.

01.17.13 Studio door

“Inspiration is for amateurs. The rest of us just show up and get to work.”

I ran my fingers over that quote each time I went passed often so exhausted I wasn’t sure I could continue.  It turned out to be the exact help I needed to keep my focus, so each day I just showed up and got to work.  It was a very intense experience that I hope someday to do again. 😉

There are some of you that might recognize who this quote comes from…Chuck Close. Here is a video with his story.  If Chuck Close can show up and get to work each day…then we all can.

What quote did you find that motivated you or enlightened you?

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

