169

01.07.13 NYC Met of artOne of the few paintings I didn’t take a photo of the Artists info tag.  I liked this painting because of the artists use of perspective and the range of people near and far.

01.07.13 Umberto Boccioni

This was part of a series of three paintings that Umberto Boccioni painted set in a train station.  This is the third one called “Those who stay”.

01.07.13 Edvard Munch

It is always interesting to see very famous paintings/drawings.  MOMA had an Edvard Munch exhibition happening.  I found his work quite fascinating.  All these years later I (as a viewer) felt the despair and the difficult emotions that Munch was putting into his paintings.  As an artist I know how difficult it can be  to really imbue a work with an emotive feeling that will translate to the viewer.  Munch was actually quite good at that.

01.07.13 Vincent van Gogh Starry Night

Vincent Van Gogh’s Starry Night.  I have to say one of the things I enjoyed is seeing the actual size of the painting.  It is hard to determine that in an image. His brushwork is quite amazing.  I spent some time exploring this painting.

Inspiration continues. Nice to go back and see some of the art work that I was thrilled to see in person.

What famous painting have you seen that surprised you or that you were glad to spend time studying?

Remember make comments on my blog posts, sign up to follow my blog or sign up for my newsletter…we are 7 days into the month and only 24 days left to enter into the draw for an Original 5×7 watercolour painting.

