164

Here are a few paintings that I liked at the Met.  There are many more that I found quite intriguing.  It was a great afternoon of exploring and trying to figure out how the painters painted.  So inspiring.

12.24.12 Amazing laceI really like this painting.  I was amazed at how well the delicate lace was handled at her neck and her wrists.  I spent a fair amount of time examining this painting.  I marvelled at the  astounding control of both the paint and the paint brush that the artist had.  No wonder it is in the Met in New York city!

12.24.12 Fede Galizia Met NY

The one thing I try to pay attention to is the female artists that are represented in these museums.  Fede Galizia (1578 to 1630) did the above still life.  As I looked at it and marvelled at her skill but that she was using items that would have only been available for a short time each year.  Not like now when we have shipped fruits and veggies from all over the world.  Did she wander the markets looking for the perfect subjects for her painting, or did she go to her backyard and pick them.

“A woman artist of remarkable talent, Fede Galizia was a precocious painter and received commissions for portraits and altarpieces.  However, it is in the field of still life painting that she really excelled…she suggests the element of time and decay by showing the growing effect of air on the cut apple.”

It is Christmas Eve.  I have the piano music playing and all is quiet at our house.  I hope those of you who celebrate Christmas have a joyful time with friends and family.

Thanks for dropping by, see you on Thursday.

