129

 

Transparent Colour/Value Charts using:  Aureolin, Quinacridone Gold, Quinacridone Red, Permanent Alizarin, Quinacridone Magenta, Winsor Violet, Ultramarine Blue, Winsor Blue (Red), Winsor Green, Permanent Sap Green, Burnt Sienna

This fall I am teaching a mini class on colour mixing.  So  in preparation I am doing colour charts to understand the difference in using Transparent, Semi-Transparent, Semi-Opaque and Opaque paint.  It is interesting that generally if a paint is transparent in watercolour then, most often, it is transparent in acrylic and oil paint.  I am creating colour/value charts like Pat Fiorello mentioned she did in oil paint last summer (look in archives July 2011).

I am finding the value part of the exercise to be just as informative as the colour mixing itself.  I do like my colour charts.  I spent a summer a number of years ago doing the same thing for dyeing fabric.  I have a fabulous colour catalogue for dyeing that I use every time I want to dye fabric.

See you on Monday!

 

